Quiet time with me

“Sit quietly and the answers will be revealed.”

I found myself re reading this mantra of mine. I wrote it at a time when I was searching for answers. These words reminded me to do so quietly, gently and not to put undue pressure on myself, but to have faith that I would know what I needed to know, when the time was right.

Looking at the words now I can see that there is something else hidden within them.

When I wrote the words first it was as a daily prompt to put myself in a quiet physical space, to better allow me to create the head space I needed. This way I was better prepared to hear what my head or heart had to tell me about a particular situation I found myself in.

As is so often the case, ‘the situation’ was a relationship I did not fully understand.
I make sense of my world by making sense of things, people and spaces: and that is what I sought.

The mindfulness (awareness) practices that I put in place then, have now filtered quietly into my sub conscious and I practice them daily.

Today the something else hidden in there has been revealed to me: it is that by spending quiet time with me, I will know myself better. No hard work ‘working out’ – no understanding – simply getting to know me better. I rather like that idea.

“I am my greatest project of enlightenment.” – anon –

Perhaps it is a little about allowing me to be as important ‘the me’ in my relationships with others.

Of course I am important. I am important all of the time and that includes the time I am alone with me.

Just being me

Enjoying me

Pleasing me

Uplifting me

Choosing me

( Words written on the top floor of a London bus, spending quiet time with me.)

20121213-134041.jpg

13 Comments

Filed under At peace, comfort, hope, inspiration, Living in the moment, Mindfulness, Peace of mind, Relationships, ruminations,thoughts, Uncategorized, whimsical wisdoms

13 responses to “Quiet time with me

  1. Reading this I did a big sigh! Why? because you are SO right!! This is something we are all guilty of forgetting! Have a wonderful weekend! Great post and thanks to the top floor of the bus! *laughing* …..Paula x

  2. You sound like a great “me” to spend time with!

    • How very kind. Thank you so much Sharifah. I am not sure how this works but in detail but I will check out the link, put on my thinking cap and reply to your generous gesture. (Apologies if it takes me a few days around the holidays and I wish you the best for the season too.). Andrea

  3. Love this, for I know how hard it is too find time for ‘just being’ here in London. I also apply MBSR to find a little peace, breathing to be ourselves, is a letting go.

  4. It stands for Mindfulness based stress reduction, have you read or heard of it?

    • I practice( though I am not sure practice is the right word) mindfulness and it has been life changing.
      It has now I believe become a sub conscious part of me.

      Re read just this morning… Control your thoughts And you will control your world and my bedside reading is the art of happiness…. Have a great day…. andrea

      • Life changing indeed!! When I first read “Quitet time with me’… I was reminded of Charlotte Joko Beck who said, “every moment of our life is a relationship, there is nothing but relationship…”

        Her view is enlightenment isn’t something to search for, but a recognition of this relationship we have with life, and yes I know what you mean about the word “practice”. it suggests a dry run, or dress reheasal, and of course life has no such thing.

        Enjoy the sun Dubai, the sun is just breaking out here in London 🙂

      • I will check her out. Thanks. I am back in the rain of England sadly!

Leave a Reply

