Visible words

Sometimes I simply prefer to write on paper. There is something reassuring about the scratch of pencil or the glide of a pen across velum.

The letters and words you form seem more personal. This is often how I start with any writing that I do and the most personal musings will stay that way, nestling between the pages of journals, with no wish or need to be transcribed elsewhere: kept safe under my bed in my box of memories for as long as the journals live.

Words here are raw. They are honest and from the heart, laid bare in notebooks of every size and shape – in every colour ink colour I have ever chosen and type of scrawl I have ever practiced.

Some pages are streams of words growing into sentences and paragraphs. Other pages are broken down into shorter chunks, thoughts, ramblings, quotes and mantras.

Sometimes pages are scattered with pictures and memories saved and taped between pages. There are underlinings, highlighting, circling and crossings out.

One thing that is guaranteed to be locked between the covers of paper and leather and cloth . . . are words: words that I have strung together to create a shape of sorts – words that have flowed from mind to finger tip to page.

. . . a steam of consciousness made visible in words.

11 Comments

Filed under At peace, comfort, creativity, inspiration, Living in the moment, memories, musings, Thoughts, words

11 responses to “Visible words

  1. wonderfully said πŸ™‚ I’ve added you to my favourites to keep track.of the creative new year…

  2. mj

    Hi, I’ve only just begun to follow your blog, but i like it. I have taken the liberty of nominating you for the Liebster blog award. I do hope you will accept it, but should you choose to let it go, it’s fine…I will continue to visit this nice place you have here.

    Please visit my post http://paintedpenguins.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/liebster-blog-award-nomination/ for the details and feel free to write to me if you have any questions.
    Have a great new year 2013 there!

  3. Very true, using pen and paper makes the poems indeed more personally I agree.
    Wishing you a wonderful 2013!
    groetkes, Francian

  4. I really like this and agree πŸ™‚ you’re a talented writer.

  5. I’ve got some of those journals on my shelf – raw writings that got me through ‘times’. I’ve been thinking about them, about forming them into something. But the memories they would stir – I’d probably lose days, many many days …

Leave a Reply

