In search of words that resonate

As I sit this morning, museli in hand, a fine rain coating pavements in my street: I look at the blank pages of my note book on the floor next to me.

I stare at the fire in front of me, placing the notebook in my lap and the pen in my hand and hope to find words that I can share, ‘from me to you’ – on this day of glancing back.

2012 was the usual mix of highs and lows. I have stood on mountains and absorbed it all: looking out at the world and looking in at me. I have lived and I have loved and if I were to write down all the stuff that really mattered, I would be proud of myself. I am proud of me.

Things I have been aware of for years: good advice I have shared and learnings I have gathered, have this year been harvested. They have sunk under my skin and are now part of my sub conscious.

I know that it is not enough to know that I am responsible for my own happiness. I really am. I absolutely am. Since I accepted that responsibility, I am no longer afraid to say it for fear it might not be true.

Everyone and everything else is icing on the cake. Receiving the time, attention, recognition and friendship of others is a privilege. It is not mine to expect or take.

I have written with a greater consistency in 2012 than ever before. I have been published in 2 magazine, many times on line and I have taken my first steps into the world of blogging.

I am thankful. I am at peace. I am loved. I am happy.

I wish the same to you.

Image

25 Comments

Filed under At peace, blogging, change, comfort, friends, joy, Living in the moment, memories, Mindfulness, ruminations,thoughts, Well being

25 responses to “In search of words that resonate

  1. LizzieJoy

    And the best is yet to come. May your new year bring all that your heart desires. Bless you.

  2. That fire place brings back memories, we had one just like it at our last house, that was a happy house for us, unlike this one.
    Have a great New Year and a fantastic 2013.
    Wayne

  3. Here’s to 2012–like you said highs and lows; a time for growth.
    Now HERE’S to 2013: May it be even better for you :>)

  4. ajaytao2010

    Excellent, really the words are resonating

  5. Thoughtful piece; what is it about this time of year that seems tomake us do that?
    Best wishes for 2013.

  6. Excellent write. Essentially we must take responsibility for our own happiness, if we give that to or allow that to be held by others, they take it with them, when they leave.

  7. You seem at peace with a lot of things …. that makes me feel warm for some reason.

    Wishing you an even better 2013

  8. Thank you for dropping by to my blog – sounds like your set for 2013

  9. It seems like you have found balance and happiness, good luck in 2013!

  10. Very beautiful ~ taking responsibility this way is so courageous… becoming ~ love this… RL

  11. Thank you so much Robyn. I do believe we become more of the person we are every day.

  12. I love this post. Sounds like you are very happy — very inspiring. And congrats on being published in two magazines! My new year’s resolution is to be published online and it’s already happening. Here’s to happiness and heart-writing!

  13. …Here’s to lots and lots of heart-writing ! (I like how that sounds)

  14. Love this post. It’s gentle and easy. I relate to much of what you’re saying. Thanks for following my blog. It’s a work in progress. I hope to see you around! 🙂
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

