With a child’s eyes

I recently put an app on my phone that is called Mindfulness Attitude.

It lists 7 significant ways of thinking and behaving which are helpful. For each one there is a simple statement to guide you and I like to check in and read them most days.

Last night as I lay in bed, one in particular was on my mind, as I became aware that I was excited with the news that a snow storm was going to spread across England overnight and was due to arrive in London around 9 in the morning. I was thinking of the world with what my app calls a beginners mind –  ‘having the willingness to observe the world as if it were the first time doing so.’

I love to watch fresh snow fall. I  find it relaxing and soothing and I am drawn back in my mind to my childhood and all those wonderful snowy wintry memories:  of snow ball fights in the street, building a snowman in the garden and giving him eyes made of coal.

As a peeked out all morning it was just as if I was watching the snow fall for the first time and was in awe of it’s beauty and wonder.

I was rewarded  with the sight of my back garden robin sheltering under the table, then coming back again later to shelter some more.

A muffled snow slips down

A muffled snow slips dainty down

Icy flotsam whirl and bounce

Lace ribbon catch in cobwebs

Snow white dust laid bare

22 Comments

Filed under At peace, beauty, Living in the moment, memories, Mindfulness, ruminations,thoughts

22 responses to “With a child’s eyes

  1. Hi, I was excited too! Winter at last! At 2 am I woke up and put my hand out of the window (freezing draught) and felt snow land on it. At 6am I woke up and it wasn’t dark outside because of the snow. I couldn’t sleep again and then got up to feed the birds as I knew they would be very hungry. There were bird tracks all over the snow when i opened the door as if they had been waiting for me. I suppose they had indeed! Cheers becky (on the PAV course, too) rebecca gethin.wordpress.com

  2. funny enough, I was saying to friend that minfulness is good brain training in staying young, i.e. in cultivation an open attitude to changes and chall;enges we face.

  3. Hi! *waving* I am sooo jealous!! Perth, Australia never has had snow! It’s way too hot here! really happy for you as you made me feel excited for you! 🙂

  4. excellent… send a little sunshine this way

  5. mj

    You make the snowstorm sound like fun… 🙂 that’s a gift only few people have…. to be able to see life like that… hold on to it!

  6. I love London. and I miss the snow right now. That crunching sound of the snow under your feet, that crisp cold air against your cheek. Good times!

  7. I love the snow too! (But it rarely snows here…even if it is at -5C).

    A lovely little poem at the ending too.

  8. Lovely story about snow storm.

  9. Pingback: With a child’s eyes | sueshan123

  10. Beautiful, and a great reminder – beginner’s mind, a conscious, magical place to receive life from. Thanks for the visit and the like:-)

  11. Where I live (California – U.S.) we have to drive to the mountains to experience snow. I would love a late season snow fall. I am going to look into that app. It’s nice to discipline yourself to be aware and grateful for everyday things around us.
    Karen

Leave a Reply

