Imbibe

How did I taste she asked,

hugging her knees: eyes closed.

You are a banquet,

a feast.

Where did you start she asked.

I started at the heart of you,

suckling ripe fruit from your belly.

I licked the juices from your skin as

Berries rained down on us.

And then.

Your ribs, each one laced with linguine and

warm bread in the nook of your elbow . . just there.

You broke off a chunk and told me to enjoy:

the way you do.

Did you feed from the palms of my hands.

I spliced a fig into four crescent moons.

We each devoured two.

Later

I will rock you to sleep.

10 Comments

Filed under creativity, poetry

10 responses to “Imbibe

  1. reminds me of the brilliant film tampopo …

  2. This poem builds and builds and ends in a great crescendo!!!

  3. I hunger in every sense of the word. this is special.

  4. mj

    Amazing piece! So elegant, so sensuous! Really special…:)

  5. I love the idea of been rocked to sleep! Hugs Paula x

  6. good imagery. thank you πŸ™‚

  7. Wow… paints a cool picture in my head! πŸ˜€

  8. lovely and special, and the words flow smoothly.

Leave a Reply

