‘moment catcher’

This week I have come out of a short period of hibernation, as the rains from the west blow away the deep January chill that had settled over the British isles for the last two or more weeks.

The snow was pretty and uplifting, but truth be told, I don’t fair well in the freezing cold and only ventured beyond the environs of home when I absolutely had to.

Re-emerging, my first port of call was a recommended photographic shop in central london. I visited because I am considering upgrading my digital snap-shot camera of 5 years for something more adventurous.  The assistant patiently gave me a quick lesson in DSLR cameras , shocked me with the price for a body and lens, before I set off for a walk on a positively balmy 12 degree celsius day!

As so often happens, my eyes fall upon something that appeals to me and I snap it with my Iphone.

The first thing I snapped was a gothic looking church seen through the bare branches of the trees.

St Giles-in-the-Fields

St Giles-in-the-Fields

And as I turned to my left, in total contrast, this alluring brightly coloured block which I didn’t think at odds with it’s historic surrounding: in fact I rather liked it.

Matilda Apartments.

Matilda Apartments.

Today the sun came out, and with a new walking app on my phone I was guided on a few back streets and again wanted to snap the moment.

The Monument. The City of London. Designed by Sir Christopher Wren and erected between 1671 and 1677 to mark the Great Fire of London in 1666, The Monument is the tallest freestanding stone column in the world.

The Monument. The City of London. Designed by Sir Christopher Wren and erected between 1671 and 1677 to mark the Great Fire of London in 1666, The Monument is the tallest freestanding stone column in the world.

Looking at my pics I don’t suppose they are too bad for a quick tap on a phone!

The Shard -  as seen seen from a side street, north of the river.  http://the-shard.com/

The Shard as seen seen a side street north of the river.
http://the-shard.com/

When asked why I want more than just a snap and go camera by my son, I thought for a moment and then replied, ” because I see a connection between my words and pictures.”  ….something like the minds eye: two forms of expression that come together so perfectly and is so often reflected on many of the blogs that I follow and which inspire me.

The Shard continuing to rise above London.

The Shard continuing to rise above London.

My desire to capture the moment is a key ingredient in my daily endeavours  and desire to live in the moment. I do this not to create images for posterity or aid memories, but I believe as a fuller expression of living in the moment.

This makes me feel a little more inclined to continue my search for my next camera. Any advice and tips will be gratefully received for a wannabee amateur photographer: A  ‘moment catcher’  if you will!

Though I am driven by words as a form of expression, pictures often come first, whether in my minds eye or the images I process using the magic of  my cornea, lens, iris, retina and optic nerve.

Which brings me back to my garden and the dwarf Iris  (Iris reticulata) which I  had forgotten were tucked safely in the soil of a plant pot from last spring:  they are back to please my eye once more, for as long as they stick around.

This is my favourite image today, as this delicate early spring bloomer is my late Mum’s namesake and my most treasured flower.

Dwarf Iris

Dwarf Iris

21 Comments

Filed under creativity, inspiration, Living in the moment, Mindfulness, seasons, Thoughts

21 responses to “‘moment catcher’

  1. more great outings in photography, did you find the DSLR camera you were looking for?

  2. I think the Iris picture is my favorite too. I love purple flowers! 😀

  3. There great pictures considering they were all done on a phone! have a great day. Hugs Paula xx

  4. Glad you’re getting out ‘n’ about again, some fine shots here, like the “tilt” aspect – will have tot ry that one meself now …I get lots of ideas for my own photography from looking at the work of others; agree completely aboutthe link between image/thought/words/inspiration – digital is great take something and dump it if it doesn’t work – keep trying – it’s fun!

  5. exiledprospero

    “I do this not to create images for posterity or aid memories, but I believe as a fuller expression of living in the moment.” Yes, exactly. Like inprovisation in music…only there for the moment.

  6. mj

    Very nice outing you had, it is evident. The spring blossoms, iris blooms, are the loveliest of the lot. Hope you get your dream camera… and catch more moments to share with us. 🙂

  7. i really like this. the best thing about mobile phones now is hoq quickly we can share the connections of pictures and words with our friends. there is a lot in this world to appreciate 🙂 sadly, people miss that often…

  8. So much to appreciate ( dastardly iPhone ) !

  9. Your Dwarf Irises are doing so much better than mine did!
    But yours inspire me, so I’ll try again.
    All the pictures are lovely.

  10. You have made me want to see every single one of them. Great pictures.

    Tim

Leave a Reply

