happy on the inside….out

The skin of a life long held belief is not an easy one to shed: but I am doing it and will continue to do it.

My particular understanding of the word – HAPPY  – and belief about what it represents to me, are evolving over time, just as I am evolving as a person: shrugging off believes and ideas that are no longer relevant  or meaningful in my life.

I used to think that BEing happy required a grinning face, a feeling of euphoria or a sensory ‘high’ of some sort. I had forgotten that BEing happy was a state of mind…a state of BEing that I last recalled strongly when I was raising my (then young) children. I was utterly in the moment at that time and utterly happy.

It was the presence of my kids and my central role in their formative lives, that brought that huge level of BEing happy to me. Today it is quite another thing and the most mammoth shift in my thinking today is this –  that my happiness is not provided primarily by people and places, rather it is provided by me . . yes me!

My happiness   …    my BEing happy is self-generated – it comes from me: inside me.

My happiness emanates outwards, rather than my belief that it was something that I absorbed from the world around me.

This shift: this shedding of a no longer required skin, is guiding me towards the knowledge, understanding and acceptance that BEing happy is about BEing content.

It is about BEing fine, calm, peaceful, quiet, in control of my choices, aware of my needs, BEing myself and doing the things that I want to do.. Doing things that bring me pleasure…that please me …. that simply make me happy.

Having said all of this, I can still struggle to say the that little simple word...happy out loud. So when asked how I am, I will most likely reply…I’m fine, I’m good etc.         That’s OK though, as I know that on the inside, that happy place  looks out at the world like never before.

IMG_1098

24 Comments

Filed under At peace, comfort, hope, Living in the moment, Mindfulness, musings

24 responses to “happy on the inside….out

  1. Don

    I think it’s one of the biggest shifts we can make – from the outside to the inside. Marvellous post, thank you.

  2. Lovely. Being and hope–the two graces we seek; not necessarily happiness.

  3. Thank you for visiting my post on Grace Notes. I can see we have A LOT in common. I suppose you can say words are our medium and yet they don’t really matter at all. A presto, Elizabeth Griffin

  4. Understand the trepidation. Worked with some Bulgarian teachers whose habitual parting phrase was always
    “be happy”.

  5. I have nominated you for the Very inspiring Blogger Award:

    http://writeonheidi.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/award-time/

    Thank you for your great posts!

  6. Thank you for posting this, I definitely agree with you! Happiness always starts from within if we try to rely on external things, when they are taken away from us we will go back to the unhappiness state.

  7. You are so right! We have to find our own happiness from within ourselves. Sometimes though hard, it’s always there, we just have to remember our blessings. People and Things cannot make us happy, only we, ourselves control our own happiness and destiny. Wonderful post! Good luck! 😀

  8. We are indeed the key to our happiness. When we seek it out, find it and nurture that place in us . . the journey gets better for sure… Thank you all and to Heidi for your nomination which I will acknowledge in due course in a post. 🙂

  9. maybe we should shout it from the rooftops 🙂

  10. I love people that are happy all the way around! Thanks for sharing.

  11. Good post and good luck with the happiness. You are right. It is a state of mind and one that must constantly be worked at to achieve.

    Tim

  12. I’m sometimes startled as if a loud sound has gone off near me- but the surprise/startle comes from a momentary recognition that I’m happy while doing whatever… I could be working on my art (that makes me happy 99% of the time!). I could be reading and find a sentence/paragraph that knocks my socks off. Sometimes it’s just enjoying the sound of my middle son’s laughter. Or a bird singing right outside, or anything, nothing. I BElieve so strongly that we must MUST recognize how finite this all is – and have gratitude – laughter at life’s absurdities – and love. My personal formula (including my art) for BEing happy. And thanks for stopping at my blog too!

  13. Pingback: Best Moment Award 2 – Thank You ! | Your Inner Feathers by Ruby

  14. What an insightful post! Thanks for blessing me with your words.
    Peace and Happiness
    Diana

Leave a Reply

