Travelling light

I am writing these words in my ever present notebook from the departure terminal at Heathrow. ( later…as in right now! …to be transcribed onto a blog post)

I am sitting in a cafe simply BEing. I am not stressing about the airport experience or the looming night flight to come. I used to.

There was a time when the prospect of a long flight sandwiched between 2 airport encounters would make me deeply anxious. I came to realise that this was due to my perception of the experience to come-

– I saw a block of time, with an excessive amount of stranger interaction, condensed into it……..stressville!    Taxi guy, check in lady, boarding pass, scan this, shoes off,….coffee shop…bookshop…..and that’s all before you have even stepped on the plane.

In the latest 18 months I have shifted my thought process away from others and instead channelled my energy into myself. This too is a form of BEing with me. Staying in the moment and as a result not getting anxious.

I travel light and I travel with trusty companions: notepad, pen, book, kindle now too…iPod …. oh yes and my passport!

What I didn’t realise until this trip was that it was bigger even than that….bigger then BEing with me: it meant I had overcome a fear of travelling and straying too far from my comfort zone.

In embracing time with me (even in an airport lounge) I had chased away anxiety, dread and excessive fatigue.

It’s a mindset. It’s BEing in the moment. It’s a re channelling of energy back to It’s source – back to me.

It’s about learning a bit more about yourself: even in an airport terminal.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Travelling light

  1. Have a great trip! I still have to face my plane fear, thank you for reminding me to work on that with your post! 🙂

  2. I relate very much to this

  3. Oh, I like this view into this process…channeling back to self. joyful send for your journeys.

  4. All this sounds familiar too me. I notice that I become very tense around pre-flight rituals. It’s more than a fear of flying (although it’s there) it’s general sense of being uneased, that comes with global travel. This unearths me. I find that deep Pranayama breathing is the very thing to ground me. Safe flight home,

  5. I just adore traveling – especially alone as I get to meet so many people!

  6. I really like this. I miss travelling 😦

  7. Every journey is an invitation to grow, and every growth experience is an invitation to travel further. Enjoy your travels!

  8. This is so true, and what a powerful journey. I’ll bet the rewards for your strength are numerous and far ranging, and that makes it all worth it.

  9. Great post. Keep it positive and keep it simple. Deal with each moment as it comes. Enjoy your trip 🙂

  10. *smiles* … I like this … you have made the airport portion of travel sound serene. Not an easy thing to do. Good for you … and safe and wonderful journeys to you.

Leave a Reply

