Birdsong

Have you ever had someone casually ask you what you have been up to and you can’t think of anything in days to share with them.

It’s not that you haven’t done anything, it’s just that you are simply living each day in the moment and trying to explain that is not the point.
When I was asked yesterday, that is exactly what I thought. (Or didn’t think πŸ™‚ )
I recognised that the lack of an exciting or interesting response IS the point.
The point is BEing. When I can’t think of anything of note then it means I am in a good place: the kind of place with me that I increasingly relish. A place of BEing quiet and BEing peaceful and a good portion of that time simply BEing with me.
There is often a good deal of reading, writing and simply going about my day without big plans.
Often the daily routine will involve spending time with family and friends and these days, grabbing my camera and taking pictures: random things that please my eye and in that moment I enjoy capturing.
Yesterday I told my son that I wanted to take pictures of birds at sunset. Off we set…… and I did just that.
Image
Β Image
And me – well I was a happy bunny. Β A gentle drifting of time shared… chatting with my son, sipping my extra hot cafe latte and lots of birds, who were more than happy to share our space.
Image
Image
As I write today, I am part of the world around me, sitting on the balcony of my son’s apartment.
I can see rippling water, a streaked blue sky, boats at anchor, green grass, flowers, trees, birds Β and people. I hear children’s voices. I feel movement and stillness. There is activity and quiet and always there is birdsong.
Image
This bunny remains happy simply BEing.
34 Comments

Filed under Mindfulness

34 responses to “Birdsong

  1. omg, i love these pictures, been trying so hard to get one like these. omg i am sooooooooo jealous πŸ˜€

  2. That sounds like the perfect day to me too πŸ™‚ don’t you think that when someone asks us what we’ve been doing, it’s the old doing self in us which gets hooked on the question….like a reminder that once there would have been a very different way of answering that question? And sometimes almost that old pang of guilt that we haven’t packed the day with productivity. My mother and father are both in their late 70’s and they keep. Themselves so busy that it sometimes puts me to shame…..then I remember its their choice….and mine πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds like a most beautiful day and I love your photos!

  4. When people ask me how I’m doing, I tell I’m doing awesome, or I tell them I couldn’t be better, to which they sometimes reply, “Don’t limit yourself.” So I say, “I’m not. I couldn’t be better in this moment. Next moment I could be way better.’ I’m not being flippant. That’s how I feel. It’s interesting to see the way people react.

    Great post! Have an awesome Good Friday!

  5. Andrea, there’s a wonderful stillness to the photos and your accompanying thoughts, thank you for sharing this moment!

  6. poppytump

    Just BEing is a good place to be πŸ™‚
    The older I get the more contented I am with that sentiment. I’m not going to get het up about not ‘achieving’ in the big world . Small personal goals and achievments is what I am striving for instead of chasing the unrealistic and unattainable .
    Love what you have captured thro your lens πŸ˜‰

  7. Lovely photos! Sometimes it’s so wonderfull to just BE!

  8. enjoyed the photos and what you shared as well … in a small way I feel a kindred agreement with your words. You just BE more than I be I think lol

  9. Love your pictures of being.

  10. eclecticpills

    Thanks for sharing. I love that you’ve highlighted something so important: enjoying the simple and the beautiful.in nature.

  11. I just love nature and hearing the bids sing too. hugs Paula xx

  12. Wonderful images & post!

  13. A beautiful post, wonderful sentiment and equally wonderful pictures πŸ™‚

  14. LizzieJoy

    Beautiful photos. I love the depth of field producing the blurry background and bokeh. Blessings.

  15. I’ve always fumbled with this “What have you been doing” question myself! Because always, always the doing seems to pale in the being – even if we’ve accomplished much in the day. It seems so hollow this reeling off a long to-do list. Somehow it just doesn’t seem to fit into the spirit of the question when perhaps the best thing today had just been “Doing nothing but the pleasure of gazing at the sky.” πŸ˜€ But maybe I’ll just answer that the next time I am asked this question! So good to be here! Sharon

Leave a Reply

