dragon

I look into the sky as the day begins to fade.
I see a dragon.
My dragon is elegant: long and slim with a bony, squat tail and an open jaw.
My dragon is not at all ferocious, but he wants to give the impression that he might be.
He moves with grace, imprinted in the dusky sky.

I close my eyes for a moment. When I open them again, still there are no clouds, only my dragon.
As his firm body softens, he turns his head away and fades a little.
He glows peachy. I see him so clearly in the half light. The softest rosy red now.

We look . . . and we see the world with our own eyes.
With an open mind and an open heart, every vision and experience will be richer and more rewarding.

I look down in my notebook to write these words and when I lift my head to gaze at him again: my dragon is gone.

I will miss my dragon, but who knows . Maybe tomorrow I will discover a unicorn.

http://www.hdwallpaperstock.eu

35 Comments

April 7, 2013 · 4:31 am

35 responses to “dragon

  1. My daughter always sees the unicorn!
    Unique…she says that’s why she likes it.
    That’s why she calls it hers.

  2. It did indeed feel like mine…..as only my eyes were looking there and saw it. ..just as your daughter sees HER unicorn

  3. “We look and see the world with our own eyes”
    a poignant line for me because I am convinced on some days that people are using the ability to do that, but prefer to rely on others for their opinions
    Long live the poet-in-us-all.

    also remember reading a fine book called
    “I believe in Unicorns”
    Hmmm have to look see if I merely dreamed about it.
    🙂

  4. Yeah……absolutely ,ong live the poet in us all….. The world is incredible if we simply look

  5. smiles…love where our fantasy takes us and how we can relate personally to the things we see and how they inspire us…and i love dragons.. and unicorns..

  6. Lovely poen and stunning shot too. just wonderful of both.

  7. But–you must always notice the dragon. If not, they sometimes have the habit of getting bigger…and bigger… :>)

  8. lensandpensbysally

    Really enjoyed your post. I absolutely understand the juxtaposition of your image and poem. Nicely done.

  9. Thanks for the inspiration…bad habits have dulled my imagination…
    I need to see the dragons and the unicorns.
    Love, hugs and prayers…ME and the Boss

  10. Beautiful sunset… and it’s nice to know that there is someone else who sees dragons, unicorns and hearts.. 😀

  11. Lovely! I feel a little sorry for the people who don’t see magical things! Makes the world so much more fun! 🙂
    Love to meet your dragon sometime! 🙂

  12. sky-play, that’s what my sister and i called it. I loved your Dragon !

  13. Great post…and by strange co-incidence I’ve been working on a painting of my own dragon, though I have quite tamed him yet 🙂

  14. You can’t beat seeing a sky dragon, always makes my day 🙂 great photo, the colour is wonderful

  15. Wonderful! I hope you do get to see a Unicorn next time – if so do write about it:-)

  16. hhmm…all this whimsy talk of dragons and unicorns, gentle reminders to be playful in our creativity as we were as children. thank you.

    these fanciful creatures have such a ‘core’ appeal. to this day Tolkien’s Trilogy remains a favorite and now, Game of Thrones where we are treated with watching The Mother of Dragons raise her 3 babies, in real time. wonderful stuff.

    thank you for liking my words today and for the follow too, i will be uncovering the treasures in your archives over time. 🙂

  17. Thank you for dropping by and adding the likes and also clicking follow. I do like your blog, as I am also a world watcher, sky, ponds, trees and under the darkest rock. Beauty is everywhere we just have to look.

Leave a Reply

