This is me . . .

I am sitting in the sunshine of a local cafe that is more often than not bustling with people. Simply lots of people and the buzz of daily living.

Perhaps the local coffee shop has become the garden fence of old – a place where we can go to ponder a little.
I am pondering and I am replenishing my soul a wee bit and enjoying a mighty fine latte in a bowl!

I came here today because I could feel my energy being a bit little flattened in my home.Β Not enough for me to be concerned that it is any more than the daily presence of builders. I find it unsettling when my space is not really my space, so I came to the cafe to create a small corner of ‘my space’ for the hour I sit here: sipping, looking, listening, reading and writing.
I have developed over many years of taking good care of ‘me’, what I think of as a strongly tuned sense of self in every way.
I know when something changes.
I consider the changes around me physically and emotionally and work out why I feel different.
This understanding allows me to manage myself and my space so that the negative impact of any situation is managed.
So today, when I woke feeling a notch down on yesterday, I took the small step of leaving the house for an hour, knowing that when I returned I would feel able to tackle to jobs I have at hand, without resenting the necessity of doing them.
This is me caring for me and about me each morning when I wake.
This is me recognising that I am important every day.
This is me recognising that every day there are joys.
This is me sharing my words with you and in so doing sharing a little of me.
This is me living in the moment.
Image
38 Comments

Filed under Living in the moment

38 responses to “This is me . . .

  1. Thank you for bringing me into the present. It may have been your present, but it got me out of being mad at my voice activated software, which is not working which, means I have to type the words you read here and damn it, that isnt fast enough. πŸ™‚
    Jim

  2. Daniela

    This is lovely … I often do the same and take my little black notebook with me. There is something quite soothing about writing long hand tucked inside the favorite corner in the familiar cafe.

  3. Sitting and just being present but not having to contribute much can be very relaxing…and all it costs is the price of whatever you’re drinking.

  4. mj

    Loved the wall bracket… with perhaps exactly what I’d put on it. Take good care of yourself!

  5. Your self-care resonates with me, and overlaps with something I am learning about lately. Thank you for sharing your awareness here. some of the necessary tasks that are resisted or done without full attention are much more quickly and carefully, even joyfully, tackled when I step away, as you mention – and leave the house. Recognizing the changes – the body/human sensors are such good gauges moment to moment of just how to best be.

  6. Thank you for your thoughtful reply Marga. I so agree with all you say.

    Nothing like stepping back to be refreshed when you step forward again.

  7. That was beautiful to read, thanks for sharing, I needed this today!

  8. What a lovely gentle post on self care…its always good to be reminded how important this is. I never really use coffee shops, because I don’t often drink coffee, but its ironic that im about to sit in a coffee shop, overlooking a climbing wall, so you’ve given me a lovely frame to sit in πŸ™‚

  9. Beautiful and wise. Thanks for the timely reminder.
    xo
    Diana

  10. Very reflective. I often struggle with finding a way to “manage” myself. I am aware of when I need to do it but not always sure of what to do. Getting out of the house to take a break is a great idea…..to put things in perspective and start fresh. πŸ™‚ Nice post.

  11. I find that slowing down …everything…is a good start.

  12. what a tranquil hum your words are, thank you for sharing. i also have a very sensitive weather vane of self awarness. slow solitude is my antidote to almost anything. and thank you for liking so many of my words today, this novice really appreciates the encouragement. πŸ™‚

  13. This is proof that we can never find peace, beauty, quiet, solitude, grace………unless we take it with us. Beautiful indeed. I’d wish I were there too, but then I’d hate to disrupt this exquisite moment. Drink up and smile! ~ Love, Bobbie

  14. I can relate to the “notch down from yesterday”, it comes and goes, keep your spirits up my friend.

  15. Taking care of yourself is indeed important nod nods. I am glad you do take the time for it. It must take practice doing that…allowing yourself the time to just say …”I need this.” And we should all do it. Good on you nods.

    Now…a bowl of latte?!?!? OMG! I want to go to your cafe. *sends a hug and a gentle smile*

  16. eclecticpills

    I love it. Sounds like well-needed rest and rejuvenation. (Something I could have used today. πŸ™‚ )

  17. It’s interesting what coffee shops have become to us as a culture…they’ve almost become spiritual spaces in a way…

  18. I hope someone has said to you, you’re beautiful ~ because you are!

  19. time out is always soul soothing πŸ™‚
    groetjes, Francina

  20. poppytump

    gentle times … wisejourney …

Leave a Reply

