Midsummer

My eyes followed the graceful pendulum swing of a red kite: attached to a cloud by an invisible something.

I blinked and lost him under the skirts of the lush canopy.

I looked out and saw green. Shapes of green and shades of green.

Image

Through binoculars I saw lily pads, hugging the banks of the Frome.

Sitting on a wall of ancient stone, I stared all day at the faces of cow parsley bobbing in the breeze.

Image

At first I felt dizzy, but then I saw the trickle of movement rush from one tree top to the next.

I combed their hair with my fingers and cupped their mighty bodies in my palms.

Layer upon layer of green – green eye candy.

Image

I watched the grass dance and specks of yellow stardust tease.

It was bliss and I was mesmerised.

( snapped visions of green on my I phone as I forgot my camera)

25 Comments

Filed under Mindfulness

25 responses to “Midsummer

  1. Very lovely writing with the perfect pictures… 😀

  2. beeseeker

    Evocative
    “kite …. Invisible something” is inspired.
    Good bones my friend 🙂

  3. Nice!! Made me feel, i was there!! Thanks for sharing.

  4. I’m mesmerised too….achingly beautiful writing….in the lap of the green earth 🙂

  5. poppytump

    yes .it does sound blissful Andrea ..
    Your words are perfect .

  6. I felt like dancing amongst the greenery! Thank you, for such a lovely poem. Hugs Paula xxxx

  7. I like the fact that you filed it under Mindfulness! Beautiful!

  8. Beautiful – sounds like a lovely dream!! 🙂

  9. BEAUTIFUL swaying of the present and the ancient ! Wonderful !

Leave a Reply

